Dot Magazine - FALL 2015 ABOUT / ARCHIVE


Who’s who? A photo roundup of recent events both on and off campus.

Robert C. Davidson, Jr., his wife Faye Davidson, and Bruce Heavin
CAR CLASSIC 2014: Auto enthusiasts converged on Hillside Campus in October for “Street to Screen,” exploring the impact of transportation and entertainment design on Hollywood and the entertainment industry. Art Center Board Chairman Robert C. Davidson, Jr., his wife Faye Davidson, and Trustee Bruce Heavin (BFA 93 Illustration).

Jay Ward and Chip Foose
CAR CLASSIC 2014: Jay Ward, Cars Legacy Guardian at Pixar Animation Studios, with Transportation Design alum Chip Foose (BS 90), president and CEO of Foose Design.

Daniel Simon
CAR CLASSIC 2014: Daniel Simon, Tron: Legacy concept vehicle designer, signs books for fans.

Lorne M. Buchman
LEAH, A CELEBRATION: Art Center President and CEO Lorne M. Buchman at the January memorial service for longtime Graphic Design faculty member Leah Hoffmitz, who passed away in October.

Eric Hu, River Jukes-Hudson and Dante Carlos, with Simon Johnston
Graphic Design alumni Eric Hu (BFA 11), River Jukes-Hudson (BFA 02) and Dante Carlos (BFA 05), with Simon Johnston, creative director of the new Center.

Jeremy Hunter, Tomo Ogino and Lowell Milken
Faculty member Jeremy Hunter, Tomo Ogino (BFA 12 Graphic Design) and philanthropist Lowell Milken, whose family foundation’s $2 million gift established the Hoffmitz Milken Center for Typography, honoring his wife’s legacy.

Kristine Bowne and Patrick Kiruki
GRADUATION FALL 2014: Commencement speaker Patrick Kiruki (BS 05 Product Design), at right, with Kristine Bowne, executive director of Alumni Relations and interim director of Career and Professional Development.

Graduating students
GRADUATION FALL 2014: Graduating students (above) celebrate at Hillside Campus.

Jenna Yuanyuan Bao and Diana Thater
GRADUATION FALL 2014: Jenna Yuanyuan Bao (MFA 14) receives her diploma from Grad Art Chair Diana Thater (MFA 90).

Martin Smith, with Karen Hofmann and Babette Strousse
INSEAD 10th ANNIVERSARY: In San Francisco celebrating the 10th anniversary of Art Center’s partnership with INSEAD, faculty member and former Product Design Chair Martin Smith; current Design Chair Karen Hofmann; and former faculty member Maureen Thurston, who was the first lead faculty for the joint program.

Katie Dill, Conor Walsh, and Seth Weissman
INSEAD 10th ANNIVERSARY: Speakers included INSEAD alumni Katie Dill (BS 07 Product), Airbnb’s head of experience design; Conor Walsh, core team leader at Bain & Company; and Seth Weissman (BS 13 Product), human-centered designer at BCG Digital Ventures.

INSEAD 10th Anniversary
INSEAD 10th ANNIVERSARY: Celebrating the partnership of Art Center and INSEAD at Airbnb’s San Francisco headquarters, INSEAD faculty member Manuel Sosa (left) gets into the spirit. (Event photos by Photography alum Adam Bordow.)

Christopher Wu with Karen Hofmann and Fridolin “Frido” Beisert and Wakako Takagi
INSEAD 10th ANNIVERSARY: Product Design alum Christopher Wu (BS 09) with Department Chair Karen Hofmann (BS 97) and instructors Fridolin “Frido” Beisert (MS 08) and Wakako Takagi (BS 06).

Mary Matyseck and Richard Pietruska
FOUR DECADES: Richard Pietruska (BS 70 Transportation, MFA 72 Art) with Frank Stephenson (BS 86 Transportation), celebrating Pietruska’s 40th anniversary at Art Center.

Mary Matyseck and Richard Pietruska
FOUR DECADES: Faculty members Mary Matyseck (MS 03 Industrial Design) and Richard Pietruska.

Paula Goodman, Sara Hyltén-Cavallius and Ann Field
CUMULUS: February reception for the executive board of Cumulus, an international association of universities and colleges of art, design and media. (Above ) Paula Goodman, director of Art Center’s K–12 Programs, with Sara Hyltén-Cavallius, head of Design Department, Linnaeus University, and Illustration Chair Ann Field.

Mariana Amatullo and Luisa Collina
CUMULUS: Mariana Amatullo, Art Center vice president, Designmatters, and Luisa Collina, Cumulus president


Dot magazine is published by the Department of Marketing and Communications.

ArtCenter College of Design
1700 Lida Street, Pasadena, CA 91103

We welcome your feedback on Dot magazine. Please email your comments to:

Sylvia Sukop

Creative Director
Scott Taylor

Art Director and Design
Winnie Li BFA 92

Cynthia Eller, Hugh Hart, Sylvia Sukop, Mike Winder

Print Production Management
Ellie Eisner

Production Artist
Audrey Krauss

Web Production
Chuck Spangler

Editorial Assistance
Kathy Barreto, Ellen Fujimoto, Anna Macaulay

Stella Kalinina BFA 13, Jennie Warren BFA 05

Printed on Domtar Cougar (FSC and Rainforest Alliance certified)
Marketing and Communications Leadership

Vice President, Marketing and Communications
Jered Gold

Creative Director
Scott Taylor

Editorial Director
Sylvia Sukop

Media Relations Director
Teri Bond

Special Events Director
JoJo Tardino-Diedrich

Web Communications Director
Christine Spines

© 2015 ArtCenter College of Design
All rights reserved. Dot, ArtCenter and
ArtCenter College of Design are trademarks
of ArtCenter College of Design.

Student works reproduced or referenced in this publication are for educational purposes only. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including photo-copying, recording or any information storage or retrieval system, without written permission of the publisher.